Help me get used to this!!! Please!!

Madison, MS

This is my first year to try and do most of my flowers from seeds and I'm SOoooo... impatient! I'm so use to having everything already planted and blooming by now and I've got tons of babies. I can't imagine these seedlings being big enough to have blooms on them and be full. Someone please give me hope!!! Thanks!!!

River Falls, WI(Zone 4a)

I planted some flower seeds too this year. I was truly amazed by the tiny dycot sprouts about the the size of a period. That was a couple weeks ago and now they are almost ready to open their second set of true leaves and be transplanted into larger containers.

I seems to me that many flower seeds are slower germinating than most vegetables, except maybe peppers.

Also, some flower seeds need stratifying (cold treatment), some need soaking, some need scratching the seed coat surface, some germinate in the dark, some germinate in the light, some like warmer temperatures, some don't mind cooler temps. You have to know, ask, or research each variety or cultivar to know for sure.

Good luck, be patient, and keep us informed.

Near Lake Erie, NW, PA(Zone 5a)

I have been doing seeds in the basement for some years now. One thing to do is keep notes on the seeds you start. Note book, index cards, journal in Daves garden.

Next year or several years down the road you can refer to your notes when you want to do seeds again, some you might want to start earlier or later.

Be patient, the fun is in the journey.

Ogden, UT

This is my second year growing flowers in two greenhouses. Last year I remember at this time panicing because everyone wanted the flowers and they were still tiny. But they actually ended up being fine by plant time.

Here I am again, in a panic! I am in zone 5 so really shouldn't plant until May 10 to be safe. But have numerous phone calls already peple wanting flowers and we have had 29 degree temps with snow and hail!! Silly eager people.