Satsuma Mandarin question

Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

I planted a new satsuma mandarin tree (15 gal, maybe?) last fall - thinking I wouldn't see any fruit until the following fall/winter. It's spring and my tree is blossoming, but I notice that when the blossoms drop - it looks like a tiny fruit is growing in its place... I thought these were winter-harvest fruits? Do satsumas have a spring fruiting window as well?

La Grange, TX(Zone 8b)

Satsuma mature between October and November. Here are three links that may help. Don't be surprised if most of the fruit falls off. About 90% - 95% of the tiny fruit will drop as the tree couldn't possible support that many fruit.

http://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/patiocitrus/harvestingtext.html
http://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/citrus/mandarins.htm
http://www.plantanswers.com/researchmiho_seto.htm

Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

I'm pretty new to this as well - but went to the fruit tree seminar in Houston at the Urban Harvest fruit tree sale in central Houston in Feb. Citrus set their fruit after blooming in the spring. Fruit grows all spring/summer and ripens in the fall/winter. Heidi Sheesly gave the talk - she's the grower that supplies most of the sales in Houston. She said if planting in the ground - which mine are- to pull off the blossoms for the first year so they will develop strong roots to withstand the first winter. They should be protected for the first winter freezes, and after that year can be allowed to bloom and set fruit. It killed me to pull off those blossoms - they were so beautiful and smelled so good! I cheated and left a few on to set fruit - I hope I'm not sorry next winter. The lemons and satsumas are very small, but are growing in our recent warm weather. I hate waiting!
Go to www.urbanharvest.org and search for fruit trees - the info is specific to Houston. They even have a class in the fall or winter about citrus growing!

Houston, TX(Zone 9a)