19 degrees this weekend

Seymour, IN(Zone 5b)

It is forecast to be down to 19 degrees this weekend. I have just started to see some germinationin my containers. Will this cold hurt them? Should I bring them indoors? This is my first year for wsing ( as you experienced people can probably quess.LOL) and I don't know what I should do with them. Thanks, Lou

(Zone 7a)

I'm as new as you are at wintersowing, dispatcher, plus - my thermometer is not being as adventurous as yours is. But, if it's poppies that have germinated, I'll bet they'll be fine out there. As for the rest, since your seedlings are so close to the beginnings of germination, I'll bet they won't notice what the thermometer is up to. Are the tops still on and not too vented?

Seymour, IN(Zone 5b)

Yes, the tops are still on all of them. They are about half annuals and half perennials. Thanks, Lou

(Zone 7a)

Since I have not been through this part of the wintersowing experience before, plus am a self-proclaimed "fusspot", my uneducated instinct would be to throw a tarp over the containers at night.

Would love to hear what the experts have to say about this.

Here, temps are forecast to be 19 Thurs night, 16 Friday night and 20 Saturday night. If the "fusspot" in me wins out over the curious cat in me, I will throw a tarp over my topless containers, and put a sheet between the plastic of the tarp and the open containers that would provide a little more cushioning insulation against possible frost. A paperbag between a 30-gal trash bag and containers would do the same thing. I can't say right now whether the fusspot will put back the tops.

Let's post the results, Dispatcher, one way or the other. I've got extra seed...

Leesburg, FL(Zone 9b)

right now, most of mine are topless, but i've got the tops in the garage