Butterfly Bush Cultivars

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6b)

I have a situation where I want to plant a small area with Butterfly Bushes. In combination, I think, with Caryopteris and some Hypericums. I've never really grown this plant very much, and I have little experience with the different cultivars. I'm hoping for something a bit more compact and fuller than the typical Buddleia. Has anybody got suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Scott

Lower Hudson Valley, NY(Zone 6b)

Check out the English Butterfly series.

Greensboro, AL

http://www.bluestoneperennials.com/b/bp/BULOP.html

B. fallowiana Lochinch is in the 4 ft range. It has an orange eye.

Beautiful, BC(Zone 8b)

Try this one. I know nothing about it other than I liked it's compact form (under 5'), its got some nice'ish blooms that dangle, it even kinda looked ok with spent blooms the other day. Rostrinucula dependens (Weeping Buddleja) http://davesgarden.com/pf/go/86141/index.html

Thumbnail by growin
Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6b)

Gloria,

Thanks for the great link. I had forgotten that Bluestone offered such a large number of selections. Cheap too. I wonder how quickly these little guys take to make an impact in the garden?

I remember reading about "White Ball" some time ago. It seems very promising. As a white cultivar, I wonder if it draws butterflies and hummers the same way as some of the larger and blue cultivars?

As for the other species, B. fallowiana, B. nanhoensis, and B. weyeriana, particularly the latter, do these grow as well and are they as adaptable as B. davidii? Are they just as good to pollinators?

Scott

Northumberland, United Kingdom(Zone 9a)

Quoting:
As for the other species, B. fallowiana, B. nanhoensis, and B. weyeriana, particularly the latter, do these grow as well and are they as adaptable as B. davidii?

Hope not, given the invasive tendencies of B. davidii!