What type of soil did you use for WS?

Greensboro, NC(Zone 7a)

Hi, I ended up with Miracle Grow Organic with a small amount of polymer crystals mixed in. I'm not doing a lot of containers since I've got a small space. I had seen several mentions of ProMix but was unable to find it at the nurseries in my area. I just wanted to have some more ideas of what to try next time.
Thanks all.
Donna

Leesburg, FL(Zone 9b)

**runs downstairs to read the bag**

Jiffy mix (For all plants, starting seeds and containers)

I found it at HomeDepot and WalMart

Greensboro, NC(Zone 7a)

So that is just the sterile seed starting mix right? Like a soiless mixture? I work at WM so I'm pretty sure we have some still available.

Leesburg, FL(Zone 9b)

yes, i hear sterile is important. and i've also read soil-less.

i'm a newbie -- but been reading a lot.

Denver, CO(Zone 6a)

I get miracle grow moisture control. Since I live in a dry climate it really works well. I don' t want to have to water until spring. I usually pick up the very large bags at the end of summer when they go on sale. I pick up a lot of bags because it is nearly impossible to find a lot of potting soil during the winter

Greensboro, NC(Zone 7a)

I've heard that alot from the members around here. I guess I'm lucky I live in a semi-temperate climate. Most of the stores here carry some small selection mainly geared towards the indoor gardeners. Since I'm WSing on a small scale by comparison to alot of DGers, those smaller sized bags probably would be OK for me if I manage to get started earlier next year:LOL:
I am going to put some of the moisture crystals in the soil since we've hit a bit of a dry spell and it's beginning to warm up in spurts.

Wheatfield, NY(Zone 6a)

I've had several different brands, all sterile and soilless, and I'm tracking which seeds I sowed in which brand in case I have better luck with one over the other. If I notice a difference I'll post it.

Sterling, VA(Zone 6b)