Dumb question number 98,678 (exploding moonflower seeds)

Charlevoix, MI(Zone 4b)

I soaked some morning glory & moonflower seeds in a water/peroxide solution this afternoon. I thought it would be at least tomorrow before I saw any swelling. Well, lo and behold...one of the moonflowers exploded. Will it still grow? Is it supposed to look like that? I have one that look like it *just* opened up and the other that is wide open. I've never tried to germinate seeds before and I don' t have any idea of what I am looking at!

http://picasaweb.google.com/michelle.katt/MoonflowerSeeds/photo#5038208919687106930

Hornick, IA(Zone 4b)

I don't know but I think I would try it. I found a pkt that I bought in 1999. I soaked them over night. then put in starter flats. used bottom heat and lights and covered with the plastic dome.
I think every seed sprouted. Three were a little slow but I have moonflowers setting here and there and every where. I sent 4 out to Ohio with my D daughter. Gave one to a lady downtown. and have some set aside for another friend. I'm having to repot and insert temp, minni trellis's. It will be a while before I can plant them outside, as we just got dumped on with a blizzard. I'm hoping sometime in Aprill.
I'm afraid they will run up the walls and I won't be able to get them out the door.
They must be very forgiving.
Good luck. I'll have to take a pic of the mess LOL.
Russ

Saint Clair Shores, MI(Zone 6b)

as long as they aren't rotten looking (brown and slimey) the exploded ones will still grow. I used to race another classroom's teacher in getting seedlings growing and I would always soak my morning glory seeds until they had exploded and we would plant on Friday and by monday I would have 2-3 inch tall seedlings.

~Chills

Charlevoix, MI(Zone 4b)

Thanks, the exploded one never did anything, but the rest of them did. I have some pretty good seedlings now!

Michelle

Hornick, IA(Zone 4b)