Bees in the Bonnet

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

Levilyla -

I am new to beekeeping - still researching, haven't got a hive yet. I was a little surprised that there's not much here on DG about bees - they are such an essential part of the growing process. The best commercial website I've found so far is at

http://www.betterbee.com/.

Betterbee has links to local bee suppliers (avoid the stress of shipping). There's also a series of homemade videos at

http://homegarden.expertvillage.com/interviews/beekeeping.htm

by this guy in Austin Texas – very hands-on. And if you want to get depressed, read this opinion piece in last week's NYT called "Losing Their Buzz", which makes the case for taking better care of our busy little friends:

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/03/02/opinion/02berenbaum.html

I don't know yet if my setting is appropriate for a small hive, and I don't exactly lack for bees without having a hive, but like so many of the world's creatures they are fighting an uphill battle for continued existence and I like to make it a little easier for the species by providing a safe environment for nesting. I had 2 hornet nests last summer in my garden - they scared the be-jesus out of me at first, but they are so beautiful I couldn't help myself – had to stand still and watch them. As long as I wasn't jerking around and messing with them they just ignored me and went about the business of preying on some very pesky insects. So I just let them be, gave them space, and we all got along. So I figure if I can co-exist peacefully with hornets, a few honeybees shouldn't be a problem. I am currently in process of sealing off my attic from bats (hence the bathouse to provide them with an alternative nesting site) and with all the other stuff I have to do – gardening and otherwise – will probably miss the prime season for starting a hive this year. But this time next year I hope to be driving to a Virginia supplier to pick up my queen & a few workers.