HOW'RE YOU PREPPING NOW FOR SPRING/SUMMER GARDENS?

SE Houston (Hobby), TX(Zone 9a)

As a relative newbie, I'd be interested to know what people are doing at this time of year to get read for springtime/summertime gardens. Please post what you're doing in advance, so we can ALL sit back and enjoy our spring/summer gardens! Thanks.

Olympia, WA(Zone 7b)

I'm starting peas this weekend in my straw bales. They'll be adding nitrogen to the bales for my later crops.

Everson, WA(Zone 8a)

oct 2006 planted garlic for early july harvest planted in a foot hight raised bed.

pea fence is installed I grow sweet garden peas on one end and flowering sweet peas on the other.

entire garden was limed late fall letting the winter rains wash it in.

250 pounds of Alfalfa pellets spread on a new growth area that is very sandy.

Onions were seeded 1/15 and 2/7

2/7 Garlic was planted in the gh to be set out march 15 for mid Aug early sept harvest

2/7 250 strawberry crowns were planted in 4 inch pots to be set out may first.

presently installing 20x40 foot arch style hoop house for growing tomatoes in and to use as cold frame for spring flowers and garden starts

Thats pretty much it

Ashdown, AR(Zone 8a)

I've planted suagr snaps,lettuce,radish,carrots,kale and onions. Pulled black plastic off the rest of the garden and have been burning oak leaves and pinestraw on unplanted area then I'll get that area tilled and ready for more planting. Will be doing potatoes and strawberries as soon as my mail order gets here. I started tomatoes,peppers and eggplants earlier in the month under light on a heat mat. Already started hardening some of them off before they go to the greenhouse to finish out for planting out later in April.

P

Everson, WA(Zone 8a)

Hi Red question why do you burn the Oak leaves and Pine straw? I haven"'t either to use in fact I don't know what pinestraw is?

I lied another question did you plant seed,sets,or onion plants?