soil analyzers

Laurel, MT

I have been gardening for 4 years now but only half heartedly, but this year with all my remodeling and landscaping done I want a garden that I can be proud of with the best tasting veggies in the neighborhood. I want to start with the soil and make sure that my plants get off to a good start. I've seen the soil analyzers in various gardening catalogs that you just push into the soil and it tests for pH, moisture etc. Has anyone out there used them and how accurate are they and what type have you used and who did you buy it from. I bought a moisture meter last year but have used it on soil that I know needs water but the meter displayed sufficient moisture.

Also has anyone made a sketch of a garden that I could follow with good companion plants for vegetables. I know tomatoes like cabbage, onion. carrots, etc.

Thanks for your replies.

Los Alamos, NM(Zone 5a)

I have a ph meter. I am suspicious of its results though, because it says my soil is slightly acidic. I don't believe that, but plan to have a soil test done by the State Department of Agriculture to see if it says that my soil is slightly acidic. I think it probably is good at giving relative readings of ph.
My moisture meter is my finger.

Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

I had one from Brookstone and it worked quite well on moisture, light and ph. But they aren't made to last long and it is now not working. (got 3 years out of it) Vegetable gardens love areas that have lots of sandy loam, and an area of composted sandy loam. There is a vegetable site with a DGer named Farmerdill or something like that and he is quite knowledgable. Root crops like the sandy loam and beans, peas, corn, tomatoes like the composted areas.

This message was edited Feb 10, 2007 2:53 PM

San Francisco Bay Ar, CA(Zone 9b)