sheltered sunny spot, suggestions?

Ardmore, PA(Zone 6b)

Hi, this is my first post as a new subscriber! I have a sheltered, south-facing spot in what will be a courtyard in my zone 6b garden. It will be walled on 3 sides. I was wondering if anyone might have any suggestions as to what I can plant as a sort of centerpiece in the middle. I would like to plant something that would bear fruit and have some ornamental appeal. As it is a sheltered spot, I was hoping I could try something a little more exotic that I might not be able to get away with in another location on my property. I am already planning on planting a couple peach, plums and pear trees elsewhere, so I would like to go with something else for this spot. Thanks!!

This message was edited Feb 9, 2007 2:57 PM

Longboat Key, FL

A cluster of fig trees.

I am new to Princeton, NJ., and two years ago I started two one-gallon pots against a south-facing wall. They wintered over 05-06 and bore fruit. I haven't checked them out this year -- I'll let you know when I am back North in the spring.

There is nothing -- nothing -- like a fresh picked fig.

: )

Ardmore, PA(Zone 6b)

That is a very good suggestion! I was actually wondering about figs, but I am not sure about how ornamental they are. What do the flowers look like? Is the tree more bushy or wispy? When it comes down to it, I am much more interested in having the fruit than having something that looks great, but I was just curious if I can find both. Also, do you think they would survive in the ground? I've been doing lots of reading about this, but I find all kinds of answers. Thanks so much! I would also be very interested in finding out how yours overwintered.

Alpine, TX(Zone 7b)

I second the fig tree suggestion. I'm not sure if your climate would allow you to grow it as a tree instead of a bush, but if so fig trees are beautiful in courtyards. They get very gnarly and picturesque, with a great canopy of interesting lobed leaves.

Longboat Key, FL