Yay! My first seedlings!

Painesville, OH(Zone 5b)

I started a flat of Bibb lettuce, because I just couldn't wait anymore to get gardening. This is my first year getting serious about starting seeds indoors, so I am very pleased to see my "babies" are doing well. :-) I also have some pansies and basil that are just starting to peek out of the soil. Tamara

Thumbnail by zone5girl
Raleigh, NC(Zone 7b)

they look perfect!!

west allis, WI(Zone 4b)

They look great! I too am getting the itch to start seeds. Its that time of year where we get antsy.
good luck with your babies....................b

Painesville, OH(Zone 5b)

Thanks, babs and tiger! I'm also doing some winter sowing, cleaning all my containers, updating my garden journal/diary for my 2007 garden, and I just bought 3 gardening books and subscribed to Horticulture magazine. Definitely helps alleviate my spring fever! ;-) Tamara

Dover, PA(Zone 6b)

Tamara, You and I must be thinking alike. I am just getting serious about seed starting too. I have just put out Bed Bud seeds, my first winter sowing. I am getting ready to start Pansies. Could you tell me in detail what you did with your seeds. I have never tried Pansies before and I am expecting my seeds to come this weekend. Holly

Painesville, OH(Zone 5b)

Holly, this is my first year WS as well. Here's where I got my instructions: http://www.wintersown.org/wseo1/How_to_Winter_Sow.html I used milk jugs and seed starting mix, although you can use potting soil for WS if you like. With several types of seeds (including pansies), I'm going to WS and start them indoors under lights, and then take note of which method works best for each type. *crossing fingers* I just hope that I end up with a decent amount of plants come summer. Tamara

Dover, PA(Zone 6b)

Tamara, Thanks for the link. I did read that one and that is where I got the directions to start my Red Bud Trees. Holly

Nichols, IA(Zone 5a)