HELP....new cosmos look too skinny

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

OK, so I'm still new at this, but something doesn't look right. I planted some cosmos seeds in a domed tray under 2 lights (1 of them a grow light). The plants are about 5 inches from the lights. The lights are on a timer for about 12 hours.The plants look like anorexic models and are starting to lie down like a bunch of drunks. What am I doing wrong? Snapdragons are on the other side and they're looking pretty skinny too. HELPPPP

Thumbnail by unclehudy
Indianapolis, IN(Zone 5b)

I'm sure others will chime in, but the lights are too far away (think 2" or less) or you don't have enough of them. 5" is okay for primroses and impatiens, but for the sun lovers, you just need more light.

Suzy

Near Lake Erie, NW, PA(Zone 5a)

I keep my lights around 1 inch away from the top of the seedlings. Also 18 hours On and 6 hours Off. Try lowering your lights or raising the flats. The should strighten up, give them some time. They are just newborns.

Louisville, KY

I run my lights 24 hours a day, but ddo not put the plants that close to the bulbs. The so called dark reaction of photosynthesis means that it can occur in the absence of light not that dark is necessary. It is true however that some seedlings (not snapdragons and cosmos) do require dark for germination.

Seale, AL(Zone 8b)

Uncle Hudy.. hate to say this but those cosmos are goners. I would pull them out and replant. They are never gonna do anything good. They are streched to far.

I would get your seedlings next to them up closer to some light or you gonna have worse looking problems when them snaps start streching too.

Keep trying. At least you got them to sprout that half the battle. : )

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

Thanks for the advice, Starlight. I guess the only thing I can do with those stringy plants is tie them all together and hang myself. Either that, or start over. Let me think....ummmm. It's looks like I'm off to the store to get some more.