To sow or not to sow....

Emory, TX(Zone 8a)

WARNING:

This is a very long post, and I beg your patience. I am a newbie at starting seeds in general...and a pitiful newbie at wintersowing. I am trying really hard...

I have read many threads on this site, hung out for hours in Plant Files. I've studied germination charts and made notes on my seed envelopes. I have been to the wintersown site...I have googled, and oogled until I can stand it no more. (I even d-mailed Trudy once....) You would think with all this preparation I would know what to do, but all I do is get more undecided. I hope no one will tell me just to forget it, that I am hopeless!!! I do want to do it... I want to grow all these pretty plants and flowers I have been collecting.

I have TONS of seeds... I've collected bunches of containers for wintersowing... I also have shelves and grow lights and pots for indoors...I have Miracle grow potting soil, peat and perlite...coffee filters and H2O2. And I just don't know what to plant where. So many of the seeds can be done either way... I have decided that a simple way to start would be to wintersow anything that needs stratification. WOW!!! but then I start worrying about if our cold weather is enough for these types of seeds. (East Texas, 8a) So I think I should put them in the fridge anyway... Yes or no? Then I hear not to wintersow tender plants so I am thinking that perhaps annuals are the types of seeds that need to be started indoors. Is that it? If not, what is tender?