Took the leap & newspaper pots??

Jersey Shore, NJ(Zone 7a)

Hi everyone,
Gram clued me in to this forum and method of sowing. Thanks, Gram! So I put my first plantings out yesterday, but I have a question. I used little newpaper pots thinking the transplanting would be easier in the spring. Has anyone ever tried this and was it a yea or nay?? TIA

Cordele, GA(Zone 8a)

Oh, tell us more! How do you make them? Probably would be excellent for poppy and impatiens.

Northern Michigan, MI(Zone 5a)

This is my first time trying this as well. I made newspaper pots for my poppy seeds. I've heard they don't like to be dsiturbed when you transplant and thought this way might be easier for them. I think I should do my morning glories the same way, although I don't know if they can be wintersown....guess I will have to look that up.

I used this link for instruction on making paper pots.... http://www.ehow.com/how_1745_create-seed-starting.html

~Julie =0)

Indianapolis, IN(Zone 5b)

I made newspaper pots and have already used them and have already found out they are AWFUL!

First I made a zillion. Then I posted about it with a picture of them in a black crate, ready to be filled with soil. A guy posted that I could probably remove them with a spatula, which got me wondering why I'd need anything? So I filled some with soil, and before I even watered them, I realized they stick together and they sort of meld together.

But I had a zillion, so I thought, aha! I'll put them in plastic pots, and then sow the poppies. When it's time to plant, I'll slip them out of the pots, paper and all in one piece. NOT! I had done some Sweet Peas (not poppies) as a test and when they needed to be removed and the paper would NOT come out of the pots It stuck to them. I tried pulling first, then I upended as you would a regular pot filled with dirt -- no go. The paper sticks to the pots.

I have a zillion paper pots and they are worm food.

Suzy

Cordele, GA(Zone 8a)