anyone propagated like this?

Brick, NJ(Zone 7a)

i live in NJ and ivy on the ground, i believe its english ivy, but not positive, anyway, it grows rampant here, and i tried taking some cuttings like this after i found this method online. never saw this kind of propagation before...then again i'm very new at this. i'll post pics of the plant cuttings in pot and growth in my journal. i used rooting hormone and put it in 2" pot with soil.
stephanie

Leaf-bud Cuttings

Leaf-bud cuttings (Figure 2) provide an excellent means of propagating many vine-type foliage plants such as heart-leaf philodendron, devil's ivy and grape ivy and can be used for large-leaved plants like rubber plant. Single-eye cuttings are taken from plants with alternate leaves and have only one leaf and one axillary bud per cutting. Double-eye cuttings are taken from plants with opposite leaves, and have two leaves and buds per cutting. A leaf-bud cutting need not consist of a complete stem section. With rubber plant, a leaf and small section of stem tissue are usually taken; cuttings of this type are sometimes refereed to as "heel cuttings."

Thumbnail by sjonesartist
Union City, CA(Zone 9b)

Thanks I copied and pasted . A lot of times it's easier to just post bookmark .
When I find something like this I copy and paste into a word processor and put in the website for future reference

Northeast Harbor, ME

This is how I propagate my impatiens too. You get a lot more plants this way!

Lincoln, United Kingdom(Zone 8b)

Sometimes you need to peg this type of cutting to stop it rolling over. Ivy is ok but Philodendron and stuff can rot off if they are planted to deep so they can be pegged with wire on the surface.
To be honest over here ivy roots even if you plant it upside down! lol

Brick, NJ(Zone 7a)