Suggestions of Plants for Fairly Deep Shade

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

Is there a thread on plants (ideally perennials or flowering shrubs, but I know I am asking a lot) that will handle fairly deep shade? Or better still, do you have suggestions? I have an open area that is so shaded by trees that I am having trouble finding plants that will handle it.

Westbrook, CT(Zone 6a)

I'm not an expert, but my back yard is shaded by many trees like yours. I have two old books on shade gardening you might be able to find in used book stores, both titled "Gardening in the Shade". One is from the Brooklyn Botanic Garden (ISBN 0-945352-31-X) and one is by Margery Fish (ISBN 0-571-13142-5).

Some perennials I have managed to grow under these conditions are Japanese Anemone, Columbine, Asarum* (Wild Ginger), Asperula (Sweet Woodruff), Astilbe, Bergenia, Brunnera, Lily of the Valley, Bleeding Heart, Epimedium, Geranium (Cranesbill), Helleborus, Heuchera, Heucherella, Lamium*, Pachysandra*, Polemonium, Polygonatum*, Tiarella. Hosta* is great, but unfortunately the deer think so too. (The starred ones do well in deep shade, the others better in medium shade.) I have left off a few that did too well and choked others out!

Some Azaleas, Rhodos, Mountain Laurels and other flowering bushes do ok in the shade as well. Coleus, begonia and some other annuals are worth trying also. Good luck, and let us know how your garden trials turn out.

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

Thanks!

New Hampshire, NH(Zone 5b)