Lessons learned for next year #2

Minneapolis, MN(Zone 4b)

This is a continuation from Lessons learned for next year.

I just realized that #1 was a (sticky) I don't know how to do that or what it is.

This message was edited Jan 8, 2007 6:57 AM

La Salle, MI(Zone 5b)

Zen, I put a message on the contact link and asked if they would make this a sticky :o) Hope that works,

Connie

Minneapolis, MN(Zone 4b)

Connie, Thanks.

La Salle, MI(Zone 5b)

WC Zen

Northern, NJ(Zone 6b)

I've never done wintersowing before. I did look through the original thread but didn't see the answer to my question, which is, can I put pots in a old plexi covered cold frame that has a large hole in the top? Should I cover the hole with tape and maybe just keep the top open?

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

I think the notion is to allow the rain to fall onto your plants. But are you planning to use regular pots? Many of us are using milk jugs (or the like) as pots, so that the sides and top of the jugs protect the plants, and the opening is small so not too much rain falls in to drown the plants.

If your cold frame has a hole, that still wouldn't allow all the plants to be watered (I would think), so you would need to provide supplemental water. If you keep the top open but don't protect the pots, that might result in a washout in the event of a rainstorm, plus your plants aren't protected from critters, slugs, etc. But might be worth a try.

La Salle, MI(Zone 5b)

sempervirens

This is a great website to read up on winter sowing http://www.wintersown.org/wseo1/How_to_Winter_Sow.html

Connie

(Zone 6a)

I just planted my first 4 containers today and already learned a lesson :) Write on something white like a plant marker and stick it in the container. I wrote directly on the outside and once it was filled with soil I can't read it anymore!

Steve

Denver, CO(Zone 6a)