Our new mantra..'Don't sow more than you can plant!'

Wheatfield, NY(Zone 6a)

At Shirley1md's urging (well, begging LOL), I have started this thread. It's a reminder to everyone not to get too carried away. I'm sure we all have just OODLES of wonderful seeds. This is my first year to try wintersowing. I have yet to plant one seed and I have 111 entries in my seed inventory. I have bought seed that I just HAD to have from some of the wonderful sales I have come across. And, of course, the wonderfully generous folk at DG have been sending seeds to me from all over. The butterfly people have been particularly encouraging and have filled my mailbox.

Because it is just me and DH, I have my son collecting milk containers at work for me. DH tells people I have some kind of world wide seed ring going on ;0) But I realize it is all for naught if the plants don't actually get into the ground. What you don't want to do here is get yourself all stressed out and ruin your whole gardening season for yourself. This is supposed to be fun and an economical way to increase your plants. A LITTLE PLANNING GOES A LONG WAY.

Now, I will get down off the soapbox, blame Shirley one more time, and try to take my own advice. gram

p.s. I have heard at least one good suggestion for those extra plants...share with friends and neighbors!

Milton, MA(Zone 6a)

There was a period last spring/summer when two or three plant orders had come at once and there was a vast no-man's land on the patio of tiny teeny plastic containers of plants and their spots weren't ready yet... Is there an international tribunal for crimes against flowers?

Anyway that was actual plants that I had paid for! But when I'm planning to WS, that's my worst nightmare. Except this time we hope they'll be in big enough containers that they'll be ok for a few days by themselves.

DON'T PLANT TOO MUCH! (I'm yelling at myself.)

xxx, Carrie

Ellicott City, MD(Zone 7a)