Start the ball rolling!!

Troy, VA(Zone 7a)

Good morning friends. Sorry about the mix-up!! Thanks Dave. :-)

I have been growing hydrangeas for a couple of years and I only have the mophead - macrophylla or hortensia group and 1 lacecap that I bought recently. I really do love these shrubs - they are so easy, obliging and propagation is simple. New plants from cuttings will produce blooms in less than a year. I am posting a link here for your information. Other sites will follow. Looking forward to meeting you all, to sharing and learning!

http://www.msue.msu.edu/msue/imp/mod03/01700494.html
This message was edited Sunday, Jul 29th 12:28 AM

This message was edited Sunday, Jul 29th 11:14 AM

Spring, TX(Zone 8a)

I have 2 plants I believe are hydrangeas in the backyard of my new house (bought in November). Both have leaves that look right. One bloomed just a little back in late May--probably a lacecap type, those I've only seen those in magazines. It's got variegated leaves--green with a light green border. These are in really shaded areas though, and I read that insufficient light makes them not blooms and become leggy. I have also planted 3 hydrangeas that I purchased--a Nikko blue and two other mopheads; can't remember the names offhand. None of them bloomed. I read somewhere that mopheads bloom on second-ear growth--is that true? If so, maybe these plants are too young.

Main problem I am having is the awful heat in Houston. I water copiously almost every day which seems to really help, but still, the edges of some of the leaves turn brown. Any tricks for growing in this climate? Or is it hopeless?

Dallas, TX(Zone 8a)

Well I used to have several beautiful hydrangeas (mophead, blue), but I was forced to leave them behind when my family moved. Thankfully, I'm preparing a bed for new hydrangeas (mophead, maybe pink) as we speak, so I hope to have more to add to this forum soon :-)

Troy, VA(Zone 7a)