Lavender propagation help needed.

Tandil, Argentina(Zone 10b)

Perhaps this kind of question might sound stupid, but… since I have no experience in herbaceous plants, I’ve decided to post a comment in this forum.
I want to buy a couple of lavender plants and then start to propagate them myself. I have a small piece of land (may be 80 mts. by 60 mts.) and of course I don’t want to buy all the plants I need to cover this area with lavender. It rains pretty often there. Soil is deep black, rich in humus.
Should I propagate them by seed or by cuttings. I have no idea about any of these methods so if anybody has a clue or a good tip to give so I can follow… I’m all ears!!!!

West Orange, NJ(Zone 6a)

Hi Gus., My lavender do it by themselves! They layer themselves on the ground and spread that way. You can separate the new plants then. Or you can do cuttings. I don't see seeds when my lavender bloom, but then I'm not really looking hard either. I do see the bumblebees and butterflies hanging around them so I guess some pollination goes on. But more lavender people will chime in, I am sure, with their experiences. And I do recall a thread on this forum about lavender, so if you didn't do a search you should. also check the fragrant gardening and herb forums; lavender posts show up there too.