Has anyone done a WS presentation?

White Lake, ON(Zone 4b)

Hi all, I tried wintersowing last year with great success and I'm hooked of course.

As program coordinator for our garden club I've been trying to locate someone to speak on winter sowing at our January meeting, as the timing is right that people can try it if we peek their interest. I can't find anyone, even the master gardeners I talked to have not heard of winter sowing in containers. Anyway, now I'm considering doing a presentation myself. Just a 'show & tell', as I'm not an expert and I don't particularly like public speaking either, but I just want to 'plant some seeds' so to speak (LOL) and maybe get some people excited about trying it.

Have any of you ever done a presentation or demo on winter sowing for your garden club or society? I'm wondering whether there are tips you could share with me, how much time I should allot, what works or doesn't work, what was well received, etc.

I was thinking about a short why/how/results, along with some handouts (very basic) referring them to some websites for more in depth explanations. I was also thinking about doing a demo to make it more interesting. Possibly bringing a clean milkjug for everyone and having them put the soil in, sow the seeds, label them, tape them up and they can take them home. Do you think it would work? Can you think of any other ways to have some interaction? We are a small (20 members) laid back group.

I'd really appreciate any suggestions or thoughts you could pass along.

Sandy

Carmichael, CA