Ice and Sleet!

Springfield, MO(Zone 6a)

I just spent an hour removing a 3-4" buildup of frozen precip off the greenhouse. Fortunately we just recovered it with new poly just a week ago. It's been falling freezing rain and sleet for hours. The blurry picture (taken in the dark with the sleet still coming down) shows the ice cleared up about half the way. The weight must have been immense. We've had big snow events but in the past it has always slid off by itself. I don't know why it stuck so much but it may be due to the freezing rain that started this afternoon.. We're supposed to have 2-3 more hours of sleet followed by snow tomorrow.

I tested my generator last weekend and I've got 15 gallons of gas in cans. Also two kerosene heaters standing by. I am a retired Electrical Engineer for the local utility (28 years) and we live quite close to the substation. ...and I know who to call for information.

What a way to start Winter!
Dave.

Thumbnail by digital_dave
Fulton, MO

Hi Dave! We have the same nasty weather. Here we're supposed to get 8-18" of snow depending on who you ask and when. So far we have only sleet.

I've been checking on the greenhouse and the tropicals are happy so far.

SB

Raleigh, NC(Zone 7b)

lol SB, its not your tropicals that you want happy right now...its your grhouse! I have heard of many a grhouse collapsing under the weight of snow and ice. No matter how high you turn up your heat, at some point the heat melting the snow can't keep up with the accumulation of snow. Sounds like this is the wet type-heavier and slower to melt.