Need Help on Dying Foxtails

Cypress, CA(Zone 10a)

Hi…..I am a newbie to palms, but this last summer I think I went a little overboard. I bought a real nice 9’ foxtail and then proceeded to send off for 25 of these at 36” high in growth. They came to me bare rooted and I planted them into Supersoil Palm mix that I added more peralite to make it a faster draining soil. I planted them into 7 and 15 gallon pots which I know now from reading here on the forums I would have been better off in a 3 or 5 gallon. Anyway my problem is this….the bottom leaves started to turn brown then die and then it would then move to the next higher leaf and does the same thing. On a few now it has reached the spear……What can I do to save these……Any ideas would help……I will try to put a few pictures up
Thanks
Curt

Thumbnail by radman
Cypress, CA(Zone 10a)

Here is another Picture to help

Thumbnail by radman
Cypress, CA(Zone 10a)

And this is how I have them protected at this time from full sun.

Thumbnail by radman
Raleigh, NC(Zone 7b)

You sure built a nice place for them! When the leaves turn brown like that, and continue on upwards, its usually either that they got burnt with fert, or there is a fungus in the soil. Have you fed them since you transplanted them? Have you looked at the roots of one of them? If not, I would look at the roots of the worst of them and see how they look-if they look black/soft. How often do you water them?

What are the wires going across the pot for? Just curious.

Cypress, CA(Zone 10a)

The wires were there to help stablize the trunk from leaning, I did not want to push sticks into the soil and maybe hiting the roots. The wires are not touching the trunks now. I have not used any fert on them yet. I will pull one of the palms on Sat to see what it looks like and report back. Ten have been planted for 3 weeks another 10 for 2 weeks and five for one week.

Burbank, CA