Got a bad bag of my favorite brand of potting mix

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

I've been using Pro Mix for several years, buying it in those big bales, and I love it.

I picked up 3 bales last weekend to use for potting up various things I just lifted from the garden and for houseplants this fall. DH lugged them all down to the basement for me (that's where I pot), and I opened the first one and started shoveling chunks into a big container... then the smell hit me. Sour! Like bad compost. Not really an ammonia smell, but definitely not that nice fresh "dirt" smell you usually get from a peat moss mix. Definitely yukky, and not something I wanted to use.

My LGS says they'll give me a refund when I get around to lugging the bad bale back to them. They hadn't had any other complaints about this shipment, so I went ahead and opened the other two bales, and they were fine. *whew!* With a bunch of big banana plants and amaryllis bulbs waiting to be potted up, I did not want to go chasing all over town for potting mix, which can be hard to find this time of year. Maybe I could've sterilized it for use, but I'm not nuking a whole bale of it, 6 quarts at t time, LOL.

I just figured I'd post about it to see if anyone knew what the problem could be. Also, if you've got a new bag, you might want to open it to make sure it's all right.

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

Thanks -- I just bought a bag. I bought the compressed stuff -- the really large one -- I think 3.8 cu. ft, though it is not nearby. Is that what you got?

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

Yes it is. As I said, 2 out of the 3 bales were fine, but the bad one had a nasty smell when I opened it. You might want to open your bag just to check. LMK what you find... I'm hoping my bad bag was an isolated incident!

Rutland , MA(Zone 5b)

jim must be so pleased that he has to drag the bag back to the store. LOL

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

Oh, yes, I'm sure you can imagine. At least he doesn't have 3 bad bags to drag back!