Trade: Blackberry lillies for Toad lillies

Tallahassee, FL(Zone 8b)

I have blackberry lilies and seeds if anyone would like to trade for toad lilies (need something that can take some shade) also have some daffodil bulbs that I would trade too.

Thomasville, GA(Zone 8b)

Hey, neighbor!

Have you had any luck with Toad Lilies? I have been buying them for several years bareroot and have never had any luck in Thomasville, GA. Any info would be very much appreciated!

plantnutga

Tallahassee, FL(Zone 8b)

No I havn't ever had any yet, I was hopeing though, I had blackberry lilies in North AL before I moved here, and planted seed last year that didn't bloom this year since I overestimated the amount of sun they would get next to elephant ears (aka I underestimated the amount of growth of the elephant ears.) they did put on a lot of foliage though.

Why didn't the toad lilies work out for you? I was hoping they would have about the same needs.

Got any good nurseries up there in GA? (and how amazing is this weather, it makes me want to work outside all the time!!)

Thomasville, GA(Zone 8b)

sorry it took me so long to answer! It has been a busy week.

Yes, the weather is gorgeous!!!!!!!! I have really enjoyed it.

I'm not sure why the toad lilies didn't work out. I'm trying them in a couple of places this year. We are in such a different part of the country, it's hard to tell! I know they do great in Atlanta and in North Carolina. I hope it's just that the stock you can buy locally is poor.

Thomasville has only one nursery, nothing special. Tallahassee nursery, Esposito's and Tallahassee Native nursery are way better. I've found some nice suppliers further north in GA.....

I worked for several years at wholesale nurseries in S. GA and N. FL, there's lots of great plant lovers around here. I was certified a year and a half ago as a Florida Certified Landscape Professional, which took a lot of work and a killer test, but I'm out of the industry now.