Fall in the Rockies

Los Alamos, NM(Zone 5a)

Fall is beautiful almost everywhere and I went out and took some pictures today as it begins to descend on New Mexico. it is not as striking as on the East Coast but it is beautiful. First here is a picture of the canyon 1 block from my house. It is a great hiking spot and frankly, the picture doesn't do the flowers justice, but I am new at photography so use your imagination, purple and yellow daisy like plants everywhere. Please show us your area's fall colors!
Betty

Thumbnail by pajaritomt
Los Alamos, NM(Zone 5a)

And here is the tree that JamesCo said he would almost pay money to see. It is very lovely though there was a wind blowing when I took a picture of it today so it doesn't look quite as elegant as it might. There are 4 of them, but I haven't a clue what they are. Of course, I don't pretend to know all the trees and large shrubs available for landscaping these days. These went in about a year ago.

Thumbnail by pajaritomt
Los Alamos, NM(Zone 5a)

Here are the leaves form these trees so you can see all the colors at once. I simply plucked them off, put them on the sidewalk and took a picture. This is what I like about these trees. This one is surrounded by dark purple shrubs in the background but the trees have some dark purple of their own. I rather like this display at my local fire station. Any clue what these trees are?

Thumbnail by pajaritomt
Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

Wow Pajaritomt good collection. I saw some beautiful Quaking aspen in the Rockies early this week I'll have to shoot a pict when I pass them sunday. Here is my early ones.
Sumac.

Thumbnail by Soferdig
Los Alamos, NM(Zone 5a)

Your sumac is georgeous! I love the fall colors. Each plant is different! Any clue what the ones I posted are?
Our Aspens haven' t begun to turn yet, but some plants in town have. Perhaps I can get a good picture of the aspens later on.