What is the best soil to use?

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

What type of soil do you use? (I have never tried WS before.)

I see that many of you like Miracle Gro potting soil.

When I've sowed seeds before, I usually used a seed starting mix. But do I really need seed starting mix? It sounds as if I don't need anything so specialized.

For WS, can I just get a bale of something like Premier Pro Mix from a garden center, which would be cheaper, rather than lots of bags of potting soil? And then maybe amend it with moisture crystals (I'm blanking on the name)?

Do any of you amend with anything else? Vermiculite? Sand?

Brooklyn, NY(Zone 7b)

I use mostly Miracle-Gro, and Pro-Mix when I can find it. You don't need seed starting mix. Actually, any decent quality potting mix should work fine. Potting soil tends to be too heavy, especially the cheapie ones. Turns to concrete.

Yes, definitely get the big bales if you can. The moisture crystals are okay to use, just be mindful that a little bit goes a very long way. I don't personally amend with anything else, but there are WSers who do. It all depends on personal preference ....

PV

Columbia Heights, MN(Zone 4a)

PVick is correct. You don't need any special soil for WS seeds. Just use up what you have on hand. I used MG last year and all my seeds did just fine.

Long Island, NY(Zone 6b)

Ditto on the MG for me.

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

I found the Miracle-Gro moisture control mix at www.hardwarestore.com for -- 6 packages of 8 quarts each -- for $29.94 plus shipping that was under $10 -- so under $7 for 8 quarts each including tax/shipping, etc.