Ginkgo 'Spring Grove'

Elburn, IL(Zone 5a)

Someone long ago asked about the growth rate. I'd say 4" for the year?

Thumbnail by Kevin_5
Greensboro, AL

Near me is the stump of a gingko that is more than 4 ft in diameter. The legend is that the tree was planted by a teacher who brought it from China where she was a missionary between 1850 and 1870. Some idiot connected with the County Highway Department cut down the tree. The stump is sending out shoots that I have tried to propagate--so far not successfully.

Elburn, IL(Zone 5a)

...and here is the oh-so-bluetiful Ginkgo 'Liquor Store'......and Dax, it's STILL growing, and not hardening off yet.

Thumbnail by Kevin_5
Greensboro, AL

WOW! it is bluetiful! Are you rescueing these? How do you come by them?
Is there another part to this thread that I missed? I LOVE gingkos. There was a whole grove of them on my way to school when I was a graduate student at the University of Kentucky at Lexington. What an experience to walk through a grove of falling golden gingko leaves in the fall. One of my peak life experiences I think.

Scott County, KY(Zone 5b)

Great to hear the fond reminiscences of the UK campus, the way it used to be. With all the new construction going on, I wonder if the ginkgos are still there.

Were you a Shawneetown resident, or Cooperstown? Or maybe you lived over around the Euclid Avenue neighborhood, and walked under the row of trees near Rose Lane and the Newman Center?

I invested in the UK experience twice; first time in engineering, and trees were just for shade or climbing. My learning curve then was exceedingly slow. I passed a ginkgo everyday (next to Memorial Coliseum) on the way to Anderson Hall. Every fall, I'd wonder what "foule excremente" I'd stepped in as I sat down to my 8 a.m. thermodynamics or extractive metallurgy class. Only years later as a horticulturist did I appreciate that it was a fine female ginkgo specimen that was blessing me with her bounty as I strolled beneath.