Alternative heating methods for GH during power outages

Maggie Valley, NC

I've lived in the mountains for years but never had a GH in this climate. Before I was always in areas that power or lack of it were not a problem. Anybody have any ideas for alternative heat sources that will not kill the plants( mostly orchids ). Years ago when I lived in Cincinnati I had friends that tried to add more heat with a charcoal barbecue grill when the temps went down to zero and below (the river froze solid) and they lost most of what they had. Carbon monoxide will kill almost anything and can come from wood, propane, butane etc. Anybody tried anything else? All comments appreciated.

Springfield, MO(Zone 6a)

I'm an electrical engineer (retired) from the local power company. My responsibilities included Electric System Planning and operation of the Control Center. While our reliability was quite good, nevertheless, an outage is only a question of when, not if.

I have a 5kW generator and the proper wiring and isolation equipment to run the whole greenhouse and part of the "real" house too. I stress "the proper" wiring since homeowner generators represent a significant safety threat to the lineworkers who can be exposed to lethal voltages on a "dead" line caused by the customer generator "backfeeding" the circuit. So, please, if you install a generator (a good idea), make sure you also have equipment to ensure that the generator and the incoming electrical line CANNOT be connected at the same time. In my 28 years in the electric utility business, the only thing I really worried about was having a lineman killed on my watch. I am sorry to say it did happen one time and although there was nothing that anyone could have done, it was a very sad day. Here is a link to my interconnection system. http://www.generac-portables.com/generators/pts/components.cfm