Sun or shade? Water?

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

I've never tried winter sowing before, but I'm excited to do it this winter.

I have some questions I couldn't readily find answers to on this site (though I know they are buried here somewhere):

Does it matter if I put my containers in the sun or shade outside? I have a lot more shade than sun, but I am assuming that seeds that need light to germinate will do better in the sun. And that once the seeds germinate, they will need light to thrive.

And I gather I should not stack the containers for the same reason.

I figure I'll need to locate a table to put them on to avoid my dogs and/or kids trampling them, especially when it snows and the containers are invisible.

Last question: Do you water at all before the days get warm, say 50 degrees? The less I have to check them containers, the happier I will be . . . . . but I don't want the seedlings to perish for lack of water.

Ellicott City, MD(Zone 7a)

Welcome happy_macomb from another Maryland gardener and Winter Sower!!! I grew up in Bethesda, so I'm quite familiar with your area.

I would find a place that receives morning sun/afternoon shade and is away from where the dogs and children play. Otherwise, the containers will be knocked over and stepped on accidently. Yes, you will need to water them daily in this hot weather. It helps if you add polymer crystals to the soil mix, which needs to be at least 4" deep. Anything less will dry out to quickly! Unfortunately, you learn some hard lessons from experience. The majority of seeds need sunlight in order to germinate properly, therefore, stacking your containers is not advisable. Once the days get cooler and the night time temps drop to around 50 degrees, you probably will not need to water daily. However, you still want to check your containers on a regular basis to make sure the soil is still moist.

Hope to see you a lot more around D.G.!

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)