Starting Apricot from seed

Atmore, AL(Zone 8b)

I bought some apricots that were the best tasting ones I have ever eaten. If the seeds can be germinated, will they come true from seed? What do I need to do to try to germinate them? Can they be stored over the winter and started next spring?

Monon, IN

Hi, escambiaguy. Here is a link I hope works:

http://www.ibiblio.org/ecolandtech/NAFEX/message-archives/old/msg03423.html

It says Apricot seeds need 3-4 weeks of cold in order to get them to germinate in the spring.

I am no expert, but trying to think logically about whether or not you'd get the same sweet apricots from the seeds causes me to suppose that possibly the tree your apricots came from was surrounded by the same kind of trees, so that it would have been pollinated by the same kind of trees, so that there might be a good chance you'd get the same sweet apricots.

But the picture could be a good deal more complicated than that. The trees could have been grafted, and sexual reproduction between them could cause the seeds to have within them characteristics of ancestors that will not bear fruit of the quality you want.

Is there any possibility of contacting the store where you bought the apricots in order to trace back to where the apricots come from, and to thereby ask the orchard where the apricots were picked what kind of tree they came from? You could then possibly just buy that type of tree.

Just my two cents.

CJ

Atmore, AL(Zone 8b)

I bought them at Wal-Mart of all places. They didn't have any of the little stickers on them. I like the flat topped look of apricot trees, so I would be satisfied if I could get a ornamental out of it.

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)