Hello All. I'm new to Shelton, WA

Shelton, WA(Zone 8a)

I've browsed the forum and there's so much great stuff here.

My husband and I moved to 4 acres just outside Shelton last fall and I have so many plans already! I have an area set aside for fruit trees -- apples, pears, cherries, just about anything that will grow here. I'd like to know what other people in my area are having success with so I can avoid buying the wrong trees!

Thanks for any suggestions. :-)

Thumbnail by MzWeazelle
Olympia, WA(Zone 8b)

Congrats!! And welcome to Shelton, well, unless you are from cali, lol. I am nearby you!! Best of Luck Gardening.

Best;
bluelytes

So. Puget Sound, WA(Zone 8b)

Welcome MzWeazelle! I've been here a year and a half now. My garden is mostly shade so no fruit trees. There are many resources here on DG and here are a few websites I've sound helpful:
http://www.backyardgardener.com/mygarden.html
http://seattlepi.nwsource.com/nwgardens/
http://gardening.wsu.edu/

Have fun!

West Richland, WA(Zone 7a)

I was raised in Shelton and my parents and close friends and family still live there. Probably will forever. We don't get to visit as often as we'd like but it is so gorgeous over there. What part of Shelton? My parents have 10 acres about 6 miles out Arcadia Rd right on Hammersley Inlet. I think they have one of the biggest Doug Firs in Mason County right next to the garage! It is a haven for birds and squirrels. How long have you been in WA?
Depending on the cherry, you may not get enough sun there. It is rather wet there being just at the base of the rainforest. My parents have a pie cherry, a few apple trees, and a Japanese Prune (yum). We tried some different types of apple and even a peach but with no success. I don't know about pears. Pears are a spectacular grower over here in Yakima where the climate is not quite as extreme as the Tri-Cities. I don't recall anyone growing pears; I'll have to ask my Mom....I am rather curious.