Can potting mix be re-used?

Silver Spring, MD

Greetings Forum Members. I am new to gardening and this year planted 180 plants from seed, all to grow in containers. I've had to bring in a substantial amount of potting mix in 3 cubic yard bags ( a muscle building experience). The mix is good quality with fertilizer. I've added a substance to help the mix retain water (small dry cyrstal-like additive). My question is, can I re-use this soil next year if I keep it carefully over the winter in a clean container. Thanks for your thoughts.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

First, I want to understand your question a little better...are you wanting to re-use soil that you already grew plants in this year? Or do mean that you have leftover soil that you want to hold over until next year? If it's leftover soil that was never used, then it should be OK to use. However, if you're wanting to re-use soil that you already grew plants in, that's a bit riskier. It's not generally recommended to re-use potting mix--there's always a chance that there would be some fungus/bacteria that got in the soil this year that could cause problems for whatever you plant in it next year. If you are starting seeds in it I definitely wouldn't recommend re-using it, you're asking for fungal problems. If you're using it for larger plants, you may be OK as long as the plants you had in it this year didn't have any diseases, if they did then I would definitely throw it out and start again, but if they were healthy then you might have success with it but you are taking more chances than you would be if you bought fresh. The one thing you would need to do though is add more fertilizer, the plants that you had in there this year probably used up much of whatever came with the soil.

Cambridge, MA(Zone 6a)