Which brand rooting hormone?

Willis, MI

I am brand brand new to this, so just wanted to get some opinions on what brand rooting hormone do you use? I have never used this stuff in my life, but I am excited to try. I have a few things I would try to use it on......a fuchsia and a bat faced cuphea. If any of you propagation knowledgeable people have a second.......What the heck do I do after I get this rooting hormone stuff? LOL! HELP!

Cincinnati, OH

Which one works best depends on the species. NAA and IBA are most common. They are measured in parts per million. These are huge quantities. GIBBERELLIC ACID is used for staritng seed.
http://www.plantmedia.com/phormone.asp?CCode=PHORMONE

Paclobutrazol / Alar / B-nine I haven't used this yet, but it is probably the best for leaf cuttings.
http://www.plantmedia.com/searchresult.asp

You could also try Acetylsalicylic acid (Aspirin); 10% Trolamine salicylate (Aspercreme); Oil of Wintergreen (a.k.a. methyl salicylate a.k.a. salicylic acid); or a willow or wintergreen branch.

Useful lynx:
http://www.home.turbonet.com/kitchenculture/tcinfo.htm

This message was edited Jul 12, 2006 5:43 PM

Lilburn, GA

UUallace, how do you use aspirin as a rooting hormone?

Missouri City, TX(Zone 9a)

I think they pretty much all work well- have used several and found success w/ most.

Cincinnati, OH

Crush the aspirin with talc and apply dry. If rooting in water just add one-half to the water. The water must be moving or changed such as with an aquarium bubbler.

Lilburn, GA

thank you for the info UUallace.

Willis, MI

Hmm....I am starting to think I may need to take a class somewhere.

-South Central-, IL(Zone 6a)

You can also go to HD or Lowe's and get a product called RootTone. That's what I use.

Cincinnati, OH

Rootone is 0.1% IBA, 0.2% NAA with the fungicide Thiram.
http://www.pesticideinfo.org/Detail_Product.jsp?REG_NR=00026400029&DIST_NR=000904

Port Orchard, WA(Zone 8a)