orchid cactus

DC metro, VA(Zone 7b)

Hi folks,

I'm wondering if anyone in the DC area summers their orchid cactus outside? Would they like it?
I tried some young cuttings a couple of years ago, but they hated either the sun (late morning sun may have been too much?), the heat, or the humidity....

I figure if it was just too much sun, I can kick some out onto the balcony for the rest of the summer.

Ki
growing mainly orchids and gesneriads in an apartment in NoVa

Middle of, VA(Zone 7a)

Hmmm....good question...I have mine on the north/west side of the house under a ficus tree...but it's my first year trying these beauties. You might want to post your question in the Orchid Cactus Forum http://davesgarden.com/forums/f/episetc/all/ You might get more feedback there. Good luck!!

Baltimore, MD(Zone 7a)

Hey, Ki--and everyone,

I have a huge Ric-Rac cactus that I keep outside every Summer, pretty much in full sun and it has grown very full and with, obnoxiously, long "fronds". I think it is in the same family as Orchid cactus???? The "real" name of it is "Cryptocereus Anthonyanus".

This Summer, for the first time, it bloomed!!!! I guess it has reached the "miserably pot-bound" stage, so it bloomed. A lesson to those that always want to transplant things in bigger pots. Many plants prefer to be rootbound (AV's, Spath, Cactuses and succulents, Mums, etc.)

When a "frond" on this gets too anoyingly long, I cut it off and chop it into 4" pieces and root them all. I did so last Summer and I now have a batch that is rooted and ready to "go"--maybe 12 of them.

Offering this up to the "Home Folk" first. I refuse to go to the "Plant Exchange Forums!" It's name is G-R-E-E-D!!!

It takes many years for it to get this big. My "Momma" is about 12 years old and has only been transplanted ONCE! It is now in a 10" HB (see pictures below). The only problem is that it is very heavily one-sided. Not much I can do.......just hope the hangers can continue to support the weight.