2 Questions?

Wall Township, NJ(Zone 7a)

Ok.......so this is my first year planting perrenials. In my front garden boxes I planted some phlox and coneflowers along with a few other things. My questions are:

1. Should my phlox be blooming already? I planted them about 2 - maybe even 3 weeks before Mother's Day. They are getting pretty tall but I've yet to see any flowers on any of them. Also, on some of the bottom leaves, I am seeing round holes in them in the middle of the leaf as if something is eating them from the underside. Do they tend to attract moth/butterfly larvae and that's what's eating them?

2. My coneflowers are getting buds but I've noticed, mostly on the bottom leaves, they are covered with brown specks. They are not insects sitting on the leaves as there are way too many and the brown specks are actually in the leaves themselves. Is this normal or do I have some type of pest that I really don't want which is causing this?

I probably should have posted this in the "pest forum" but I thought some of you gardeners might be able to help me out before I have to download the picture from a cell phone camera to post them.

Sorry but that is the only digital camera I have at this point.

Patty

Appleton, WI(Zone 5a)

Patty,

I can answer number 2. You most likely have a black spot fungus caused by too much humidity. It is not fatal but be sure not to do any watering late in the day to help.

west Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

I'm surprised I don't see more of the #2 on my echies then...lol

Appleton, WI(Zone 5a)

Debbie,
Assuming that's what it is - I really only see it in beds that are overwatered by irrigation systems.

I have 2 kinds of phlox , but they are a few weeks away yet from blooming here in WI

west Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

I've got John Fannick Phlox--supposed to handle our heat and humidity.

Fat chance of over watering here--me dragging hoses and sprinkler is the irrigation system. :)