HELP - Potting Crepe Myrtle Sapling

Baton Rouge, LA(Zone 9a)

Hello -

I am very new to gardening and have a 6-foot Crepe Myrtle sapling that I would like to keep, but am not sure where I want it to go yet. I would like to transfer it from its current in-the-ground location to a large pot, for keeping until I decide on a final location. My questions are:

Is this safe to do?
I assume I need to carefully dig around the sapling to assure retaining its roots - yes?
What potting medium would be the best for the potted temporary home?
Is there a period of time I should let it settle into the pot before moving it again to the final location?
Is there anything else that I need to be aware of / nervous about?

Thanks,

Donald

Thumbnail by spicerd
Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

You can transplant established plants like this, however digging them up always carries a degree of risk with it, especially if you don't have a lot of experience doing it. The more roots you can dig out with it, the better off the plant will be, but that also makes it harder to move. If you end up losing some of the roots, you may want to prune the top a bit too so that the roots and the top are in proportion.

Unless there's a reason why you need it gone immediately from the spot it's in now, I would highly recommend leaving it where it is until you know where you want to move it, then transplant it from one place to the other without the intermediate step of the container. That way you only need to disturb it once and you aren't taking the risk of something bad happening to it while it's in the container (much easier to under/over water something in a container than in the ground!). But I also wouldn't recommend transplanting in the heat of summer even if you do find a place for it soon--I would wait until fall when it cools off a bit.