Sowing Tulips from seed

Long Island, NY(Zone 6b)

Has anyone tried wintersowing Tulips?? I have just harvested some on a dwarf variety that seems to do well and comes back every year. Any thoughts or tips?

(Zone 6a)

I've never tried them before, but I read once that hybrid tulips can take 7 years to flower. I'm pretty sure thats what it said. It would probably be very rewarding though!

Steve

Long Island, NY(Zone 6b)

I'm in no rush - it would be neat to actually have success - wouldn't it?

(Zone 6a)

Yes, it would be very neat. Now you've given me the idea to try it myself.
Wonder what I would get from hybrid tulip seed?

Steve

Brooklyn, NY(Zone 7b)

It should be interesting to see what you get from the tulip seeds - go for it!

I got seeds from my oriental and asiatic lilies last year. I mixed them up, so I don't know which is which, but I had planned to sow them this past winter - just never got around to it.

Think they'll still be good? I'm going to give it a try.....

Did tiger lilies from bulbils back in 2004 - plants are small, but growing nicely and have now put on bulbils of their own.

PV

Long Island, NY(Zone 6b)

I saved some of those too...I didn't get around to it either. Experiment for next winter.

(Zone 6a)

Thats something else I want to try, saving the seed from my lilies. Do you just plan on WSing yours? I've never grown lily seed before...

Steve

Long Island, NY(Zone 6b)

I never have either, but I figure what the hey....I had such success this year with wintersowing - and it was my first year doing it.

(Zone 6a)

Ok, We'll both be WSing lilies then this winter! It will be my first time ever.

Brooklyn, NY(Zone 7b)