I have a question about pruning a Fig Tree

Hixson, TN(Zone 7a)

I have a fig tree that is HUGE and it has some lower branches I need to saw off but they are loaded with figs and I am afraid to trim it because I don't want it to get a disease and die. Does anyone grow figs or know the best time to prune and if I need to put something on the wounds so it won't get a fungus? It is 20 feet tall and about that wide. I love it because it is my name sake and I love figs so I don't want to hurt it. Any info would be appreciated.
Celeste

Thumbnail by cceamore
Tarzana, CA

I am not an expert on this, so do not want to tell you the wrong information. But, I and my newghbors have cut our fig trees down to three or four feet every three years and they come back with more fruit than ever. I do not even know what type of figs they are. Good luck.

Poquoson, VA(Zone 7b)

Also only anecdotal, but I had to cut mine back to about a foot to try & get rid of the honeysuckle strangling it. The next year it was almost as big as if I'd never cut it. But I'd wait until after the fruit ripens so you don't loose all those good figs :-)

Also - the birds here LOVE figs, but they never seem to finish them. I get a whole bush of figs with a bird-sized bite out of each one. Might want to get some sort of bird deterrent if you actually want a harvest for yourself.

Off topic: my mother tells me that her grandfather was 'convinced' that there was only a single honeysuckle vine in the whole world. All we see are the tips of it sprouting through the soil - and that's why you can never seem to get rid of the darn things. Kind of like trying to kill a hydra. :-)

Kearny, NJ(Zone 7a)