The Start of a Peach?

Danbury, CT(Zone 6a)

I hope so. These fuzzy things are emerging from the faded peach blossoms of my new (just planted last month) Elberta Peach. I sprayed it Friday with fruit tree spray, but then we had 2 straight days of rain Saturday and Sunday. Notice the ant crawling towards the bud in the picture. Are ants something to worry about? Did all my spray get washed away?

Thumbnail by jenhillphoto
Danbury, CT(Zone 6a)

Here it is a little closer...

Thumbnail by jenhillphoto
Alexandria, IN(Zone 6a)

Yep, you've got peaches....to take care of !

I am not aware of ants causing fruit trouble.

Rain will dilute your protection, but not all of it likely.

Danbury, CT(Zone 6a)

Indy, don't leave me hanging. I'm new to this peach thing. "...to take care of!"??? Anything I need to be doing other than spraying with fruit tree spray and putting fence around (to keep out the deer)? I tell you, I cannot wait to eat my very own peach, from my very own tree.

Alexandria, IN(Zone 6a)

If the new peaches set and don't abort, then they need protection from the usual pests by either spraying or perhaps bagging the fruits with footies [experimental yet].

Since you have a new tree, it likely will not be covered with hundreds of surplus little peaches that need thinned off....like my older trees.

So enjoy.....................hopefully.

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)