Newbie....what do I do about squirrels digging up my corn???

Magnolia, TX(Zone 8b)

I'm new at this, 3x I have planted corn kernels and each time the darn squirrels dig them up. Is there anything that will stop them from doing that?

Last time I planted, I placed my motion activated water sprinkler (Crow) along the corn row, and thought that would keep them away, but darn if the cute little rats didn't do it to me again!

Lakemont, GA(Zone 8a)

Use blood or bone meal. You can buy it pretty cheaply at most places that sell plants. Sprinkle it on the ground around where you planted. Need to reapply after rain.

west Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

This is a joke folks--don't throw nothing at me now! There's the old Texas philosophy of the the s's--shoot, shovel, and shut up! Espiecially in Magnolia...LOL...I have LOTS of friends up there!
Debbie

Alexandria, IN(Zone 6a)

One time I had trouble with a mole going right down the rows of newly planted sweet corn. Well, I planted a nice thick strip of field corn across the end of the garden and that kept him busy and fed until the corn got up ok..
Perhaps you could feed the rascals corn before they reach your garden.

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)

How big is this corn planting? Is it something that can be covered with chicken wire until the seedlings are up? That often works for me here... or pepper/garlic spray or powder.

Sultan, WA(Zone 8a)

I won't throw anything dmj, my husband shot one squirrel in our garden with an air rifle last year. It wasn't an idea I encouraged, but they haven't been back (in plain sight anyway). I don't know if having a kitty helps though!

But short of hunting them down, I agree with Indy. Feed them and they will leave everything else alone. Says my mother anyways. She feeds them corn, sunflower seeds and peanuts. They let her garden be. Plus she loves to watch them run around.

Ottawa, KS(Zone 5b)