hydrangea cuttings..........please advise

Fate, TX(Zone 8a)

i just got 2 new hybrids of hydrangea. i have never used this plant before and don't know that much about them. it was in the 90's yesterday in texas. what i thought was that i would trim these plants pretty heavily before i put them in the ground so that the roots could grow this year. and since i was trimming i wanted to use the cuttings to make new plants. what is the best way to get hydrangeas to root? is it more difficult when it's hot? would it be better to wait till the fall? or next spring? do hydrangeas need anything special? the plants i bought are lady in red and light-o day (variegated) in case you need to know that. i was planning on giving them morning sun. also, i think the soil is alkaline here. lady in red says flowers will be pinkish turning burgundy. is that likely what i will get with alkaline soil?

Waxhaw (Charlotte), NC(Zone 7b)

Alkaline soil = pink flowers.

You can take cuttings and push each into its own pot. Then put the pots together in a rubbermaid container and wrap the container in a large clear plastic (leaf) bag. If you have 90s outdoors, then move the container indoors. Light is not critical now.

I would trim the leaves back on each cutting. Each cutting should be 4-6" tall. You can get several cuttings out of one branch.

See picture below

As you can see, I have cut one branch into four seperate pieces and removed lower leaves. Then I stuck each cutting in it's own pot. I then trimmed wide / large leaves back. I put these 4 pots together in a rubbermaid container (you can use a cardboard box) and make sure the soil is damp, not dry. If you use a good quality potting soil, you can water it thoroughly and then let it drain. I wrap the container in plastic (clear leaf bag) but make a few slits in the bag.

I check the pots every week and let in new fresh air. I also water regularily as needed.