Newbie question about peas

Ada, OK(Zone 7a)

I'm new to gardening, this year being the second year I've tried it. Last year, I learned early that cutworms will mow down your entire row of peas unless you protect them somehow. This year I cut up some toilet paper/paper towel rolls and put them around the plants and they are doing fine. I think birds had a hand in wiping out my newly planted peas last year also so this year I put some chicken wire over the plants.

My question is: my pea plants are now about 4" - 5" tall with 7-10 leaves, and I have chicken wire placed over them in a sort of tent fashion. I was just wondering if it would be safe to take the chicken wire off? I don't want to restrict their growth. Thank you in advance.

Margo Tilton

East Barre, VT(Zone 4a)

Hi Margo, I think you'll be all right to take the wire off. The birds mostly go for the seeds, I think, and yours sound pretty well on their way. Good luck with year two!

Glen Burnie, MD(Zone 7a)

This is my second year too, and my first growng peas. I've heard about these cutworms. Do you put the toilet paper rolls in the ground around the plant or just above the ground?

Ada, OK(Zone 7a)

Thank you for your advice. I put the toilet paper rolls around the seedlings just after they came up, though I tried to embed them an inch or so into the ground. Good luck with your garden!

Margo Tilton

Cleveland, GA(Zone 7a)

I guess I've been lucky with my peas, this is my third year growing Little Marvels. I haven't had any worms that I know of, but sometimes when I am at work my guineas get into my garden. tisk. tisk. I suspect they may be eating the worms for me! Last year I had a problem with too much rain, and the stems seemed a little soggy and I didn't get near the yield I had my first year.