Clump transplanting & Critter's seed starting tips

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

I keep having to retype this stuff in various places, so I figured it would be easier to find if it had a thread of its own!

I've been starting plants from seed for several years now. I get to try varieties that aren't available locally as plants, and I have fun swapping seeds so I can try other people's favorites also. I love it!

I like to start my seeds in a fairly shallow seed flat... I find that a clear plastic takeout container works great! I put holes every inch or so in both the bottom (for drainage & bottom watering) and the top (for ventillation so humidity levels don't get too high), and I put about an inch of well moistened potting mix into the bottom. I start with a basic soil-less mix like Pro Mix, and I lighten it with a little extra perlite and add polymer moisture crystals to make to help me keep the moisture levels "just right." I sow seeds fairly thickly, in rows about an inch apart. When seedlings start to get their first set of true leaves (the first pair are cotyledons), and for sure by the time they get their second pair of true leaves, I transplant to 2 inch pots or cell packs. The smallest pots I use for seedlings are usually the 48 cell sheet pots that fit a standard 1020 nursery flat, and I like the 32 or 36 cell flats (the equivalent of 2 inch pots) for tomato & pepper seedlings.