Full sun cutting and filler annuals

Providence, RI(Zone 6b)

I am new to growing annuals and putting together a list of cutting and filler annuals for raised beds in full sun. Seeds that can be directly sown or inexpensive starts that don't need staking are my first choice. Fragrance, butterfly and hummingbird magnets are a big bonus. Orange is my least favorite color!

Do you have any comments or suggestions in addition to:

gomphrena
balsam impatiens
snapdragons
zinnia
asclepias
bachelor's button
cosmos

I am looking forward to this with great anticipation. Thanks.

Lodi, CA(Zone 9a)

There are some annual salvias that are big hummingbird magnets, cleome, alyssum. The hummingbirds go nuts over salvias. Echinacea is a good one for butterflies and doesn't need staking.

Lodi, CA(Zone 9a)

Oh, a really cool annual is echinops ritro. Look it up on this website. It's neat looking and attracts butterflies with it's purple blossoms.

Lodi, CA(Zone 9a)

Oops, the echinops is a perennial, but it's still a great plant.

Lee's Summit, MO(Zone 6a)

Pentas are butterfly magnets that can grow in full sun.

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

Some that come to mind :
hummingbirds: nicotiana, nasturtium, petunia,
butterflies: scabiosa (perennial), echinacea (perennial), lantana, petunia

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

And I forgot one of my best: zinnia for butterflies

Karen

west Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

And orange is the butterflies favorite color.

Providence, RI(Zone 6b)

If orange is the color favored by butterflies then I will have to get right over myself and plant some of their favorites, which I am more than willing to do to attract them. Thanks for the other suggestions like salvias, pentas and nicotiana. Echinops is a very cool looking plant and one that I will have some day, but since this isn't my property that I am planting on I need to concentrate on annuals!

(Zone 6a)