Help! How do I find out my average final frost date?

West Richland, WA(Zone 7a)

I am planting a raised frame vegetable garden this year and closely reading my seed packets and my garden books and they some say to wait for the average final frost date (or something to that extent). Granted I am anxious to get started but not too anxious to jump the gun. But this is my first time planting vegetables in this region of WA. Actually, it is my first time planting vegetables of any kind since I was a kid. I am not sure if I am too late or too early planting my peas and carrots and such or right on time. I am calling this my "experimental year" so I will just see what I get and don't get and keep a journal. But any advice on how to find some of this elusive info would be fantastic!

http://www.avant-gardening.com/zone.htm
http://www.humeseeds.com/frost1.htm#OR
I'm not a vegetable gardener myself. I'm sure someone else will be close by to help you out.
Meantime here is a zone map you can take a look at.

This message was edited Mar 24, 2006 11:50 PM

Albany, OR(Zone 8a)

You are a little bit colder over there than this side of the mts. But you can start your peas if the soil isn't too wet or soggy.
As for carrots, I would wait for a bit.
I am going to plant my peas, onions, and some broc. this weekend.
I usually consider the end of March being the last frost day here but I know it can go well into April tho.
With this year being so cold, ..... am not sure what the last frost day will really be.
Carol