Look What Poped Up!

Tonasket, WA(Zone 5a)

I'm going to try this again, I made it smaller. the other day I looked out and my tiny little 3 or 4 " japanise irises have poped open. I have been babying these guys along now for 3 years and I want to move them to the ponds edge. My first blooms of the season, the corcus havent even started yet. I'm sooo excited. Spring time in the Okanogan!!!!!

Thumbnail by happyoutside
Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

Ahh yes the Japs are always the early bird. beautiful!

Issaquah, WA(Zone 7a)

SPRING! I have ones I just barely planted opening up now too; the older ones are on the wane but still so beautiful to see that bright blue break the winter blahs. Congratulations!

Willamette Valley, OR(Zone 8a)

Happyoutside, those are very pretty, but I don't think they are considered Japanese Iris. I think they are called Reticulated Iris: http://davesgarden.com/pf/go/669/index.html

I had to go look it up because I have Japanese Iris and the leaves on them are only about a foot tall right now. I was wondering why yours were already blooming if mine didn't even have buds on them yet! lol My JIs usually start blooming in early May. :-)

Issaquah, WA(Zone 7a)

Yes, what MGH said: Iris Reticulata: because I just got a whole bagful and like a fool didn't plant them until February.

They are in bloom now- just a couple weeks later. I'll try to get a picture tomorrow of "barrel o' bulbs" which was my willy nilly planting of so many bulbs I had received as gifts in various swaps. They are really cute those little iris. I am always glad to see them: the first little blooms of spring.

Tonasket, WA(Zone 5a)