Rudbeckias anyone?

west Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

Originally posted this over in the TX forum but I guess those guys just aren't into rudbeckias this year...so I'll try it here...LOL

I've decided to expand my palette of rudbeckias this year and have good seedlings (I started them from seeds) of "Goldilocks", "Hot Chocolate", and "Maya". All the seedlings are very healthy and the Goldilocks and Hot Chocolate are now in the ground...the Goldilocks already had blooms--but I don't think these first blooms will be very indicative. And I probably should cut them off. I'm real interested in the what I think are the Cherokee Sunsets? Anyone else trying any of these newer varieties? Or any of these since this is my first year with these varieties?
Debbie

This message was edited Mar 16, 2006 8:13 PM

Appleton, WI(Zone 5a)

HI Debbie,
I absolutely loved Cherokee Sunset - it didn't overwinter or reseed for me last year so I'll try again this year. Goldilocks is nice.
I had Autumn Colors last year. This year I will also have Chim Chimeree.
I have seen Maya and Keveldon Star, but not Hot Chocolate in catalogs.
Al

Columbia Heights, MN(Zone 4a)

I just winter sowed Maya.

Divernon, IL(Zone 5b)

Rudbeckias rate high in our garden and of the Rudbeckias, Cherokee Sunset rates highest. Chimchimeree runs a close second, then Prairie Sun. Seeds of Maya were just started.

St. Peter's, PE(Zone 6a)

Hi Debbie,
I love Rudbeckia's and have several varieties that I start from seed. I have Indian Summer, Marmalade, Chim Chimnee, Cherokee Sunset, Irish Eyes, Chocolate Orange, Toto, Rustic Dwarf and Prairie Sun. I haven't tried Hot Chocolate so I will have to be on the lookout for that one. Last season I purchased Rudbeckia "Herbstsonne" it was fantastic!

Michelle

Wow--Thanks for the response all!