Strawberry/Blackberry/Raspberry recommendations?

Fairmont, WV(Zone 6a)

Can anyone recommend varieties of strawberry and/or blackberry and/or raspberry suitable for zone 6a?

I also have a few more specific questions...obviously I'm very new to all of this... :)

* Would you recommend day neutral or (otherwise) strawberries?
* Is there a variety of strawberry that would grow best in a strawberry pot?
* Would you recommend thornless or thorned blackberries/raspberries? (I'm looking for good taste, I'm not particularly opposed to thorns. Yet. I think.)
* How would you recommend I amend the soil for berries? (Current soil is mostly clay, not sure about pH).
* Is spring the best time to plant all three types of berry? Will they fruit this fall or next year?
* Should I stake/trellis blackberry/raspberry vines?

Thanks!!!
pam

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)

you should check out www.noursefarms.com

I called them for help and they were really knowledgable and helpful. And their rating on Garden Watchdog is fantastic.

Brockton, MA(Zone 6a)

Pam, I very much like my 'Tristar' Day Neutral Strawberries. They are small to medium size but soooo flavorful. They produce all Summer too, with a 2 week break after the June flush. I've tried other Day Neutral and nothing compares to Tristar.
I have June bearers also for the freezer. Great big fruit, 2 gallons a day for 3 weeks. How much can I use????
The Blackberries require a bit of research. I grow 2 kinds. The thorny Illini and the thorn-less Chester. The thorny is sweeter but still not as good as the wild. The Chester produces more fruit.
I'd trade them both for a well behaved wild flavored variety.
Andy P

Fairmont, WV(Zone 6a)

Thanks for the info...Zeppy the nourse farms site is great, just what I need. :)

pam

Schroon Lake, NY(Zone 4a)

Thanks Zeppy I just placed an order at Nourse too!

Hopkinsville, KY(Zone 6b)