Everything is coming up, but now its going to freeze. Yikes

Polkton, NC(Zone 7b)

The few flats I tried to WS this year have done really well. Thing is, its been up to 80 around here for a few days, and very warm for a few weeks, and now this weekend we are going to dip down to the 20s, maybe snow first of next week. What should I do with the flats. Are they really ok out there with all of the tender new growth? Sorry I'm new at this lol.

Brooklyn, NY(Zone 7b)

They really are OK! If you're really nervous about it, you could cover the flats with an old sheet or blanket at night when the temps dip. But it's not really necessary.

I don't have a lot of sprouts yet, but I do have some poppy and pansy seedlings that emerged last month and have lived very happily through some seriously cold days and nights - way below 20 degrees.

Whatever you do, don't bring them inside.

PV

Polkton, NC(Zone 7b)

Thanks PV. I guess I just got the jitters about all of those seeds being planted lol. I really love this stuff!

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)

Ansonfan, there are almost always some that make it, even in a really nasty freeze.

I thought your name was Arsonfan at first. I was a little bewildered. Duh!

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

I'm in the same boat. 26 containers with sprouts and I just don't think I can cover them all. The tops are still on the containers but I think that's all they're going to get This leap of faith is becoming a pretty steep leep. I'm not worried about the poppies; they've already survived 3 degrees. It's the rest of the stuff...

Karen

Polkton, NC(Zone 7b)